February 3, 2015

5 Star Review: THE 5 STAGES OF FALLING IN LOVE by Rachel Higginson

Title: The 5 Stages of Falling In Love

Author: Rachel Higginson

Source: eARC from author for review

The Five Stages of Falling in Love is a Contemporary Romance.
Elizabeth Carlson is living in the pits of hell- also known as grief.

Her husband of eight years, the father of her four children and the love of her life, died from cancer. Grady's prognosis was grim, even from the start, but Liz never gave up hope he would survive. How could she, when he was everything to her?

Six months later, she is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life and get the kids to school on time. Both seem impossible. Everything seems impossible these days.

When Ben Tyler moves in next door, she is drowning in sorrow and pain, her children are acting out, and the house is falling apart. She has no time for curious new friends or unwanted help, but Ben gives her both. And he doesn't just want to help her with yard work or cleaning the gutters. Ben wants more from Liz. More than she's capable of ever giving again.

As Liz mourns her dead husband and works her way through the five stages of grief, she finds there's more of her heart to give than she thought possible. And as new love takes hold, she peels away the guilt and heartache, and discovers there's more to life than death.

My take...
This book started out really great. Even evoked a few shedding of tears at the beginning. The middle of it was also really good. I loved hearing Liz's story as she traipses through her hectic life while trying to raise 4 young kids as a single mom. But it was the end that got me right in the guts. Right where it counts. It absolutely tore me up from the inside out all while lying next to my sweet, asleep, and blissfully unaware husband. He had no idea what this author and this book were doing to me.

There is something so wonderful about taking your time on a book. Especially one as fabulous as this one was. You get more invested with the characters that you might not have done when you blow right through. Now I am not saying there is anything wrong with quick reading...I usually do quick reading. Well, up until baby made an appearance. So I guess I have her to thank for allowing me to take my time and form such a connection with all the characters of this amazing read. Because when all was said and done and I was finished with this book, it took me some time to move on to my next read. It was as if I was still expecting to see these people I have grown to love and hear some more of their story.

As you read THE FIVE STAGES OF FALLING IN LOVE, it is as if the author had went through all the pain and hurt and reliving just as the main character did. It comes off that real and believable. You don’t only read the book and its words…you feel the story. And wow, what a story it is! Higginson did an incredible job creating such an emotional read one that I will remember for a long time to come.

So, thanks to this book…this amazing, exceptional, and glorious book…I have fallen back in love with Higginson as an author all over again. I highly recommend this read! 5 Beautiful, Painful and Emotional Stars!

1 comment:

  1. It seems like this is an amazing journey of a book! Where it starts out good and continues to build until the end where it hits you really hard emotionally! The idea of being a single mum with so many kids must be hard to struggle through.