September 22, 2015

Now Live: EVERY WRONG REASON by Rachel Higginson {Review}

First comes love.

Then comes marriage.

Then comes the... really nasty divorce.

Kate Carter thought she married her soul mate. She thought she had her happily ever after. But seven years into Kate's marriage, she realizes that her husband Nick is not what she wanted. He's selfish, he's oblivious and he doesn't love her anymore.

Maybe she doesn't love him anymore either.

Divorce is the only option if either of them wants to find happiness.

Kate and Nick thought they knew what they wanted, but neither is prepared for the heartache that separating will bring them. The journey they embark on is not the freedom they wished for, but a painful look at the people they've become.

At the end of it, Kate has to decide if this is really the life she wants or if maybe there's a way to salvage her broken heart.

Get it for Amazon Kindle --->
Get it for Barnes & Noble --->
Get it for iBooks --->

This is going to be a hard review for me to write. Though this wasn't one of my favorite books by Higginson, but I did end up really liking it. What started out not on a good foot, I guess you would say, ended up firmly planted. Confused yet? Let me explain...

So when I started the book I did not like Kate at all. I wasn't grasping what I was supposed to find endearing about her. In the beginning she was constantly blaming Nick for everything that was wrong with their marriage, not taking any responsibility. I guess never having been through it I just didn't understand where she was coming from. She and I were just not connecting. At all. But I did love Nick. I totally took his side from the start. I could tell that what thought happened in the past and what really was, was not 100% reality. I think her mind was making her think these things to justify the divorce. So I held out hope that things would work out for them. 

So, then there was the 2nd half of the book and things started to turn around for me and Kate. I started seeing her in a better light; a more flattering light. I think this had a lot to do with the humorous, witty writing I am used to seeing by Higginson. It was finally being shown with the characters and I let myself relax in it and take it all in. This is where I began to see that Kate isn't a bad person, she just had too many things cloud her judgment over the years and run total interference between her and her husband. Now these are things I can understand. Once she started seeing how things really were and are now, I began to like this chick. And I loved Nick even more. Some may find this confusing with everything that goes on, but I could tell why he was doing what he was doing. Such a good person. He really is. 

All in all I was super happy where things ended. It was definitely one of those defining moments you see play out in a movie. And yes, I even cried! Yes, I cried for a girl who meant nothing to me in the beginning, but bawled like a baby for her when everything pieced together for her in the end. I guess we did connect more than I previously thought. 

I really am glad I read this book and hope that you will pick it up and give it a go as well. Higginson is a talented, amazing author and it shows in her writing. 4 Stars!

Looking for another contemporary romance from Rachel Higginson?  Five Stages of Falling In Love is on SALE for 99¢!

Elizabeth Carlson is living in the pits of hell- also known as grief.
Her husband of eight years, the father of her four children and the love of her life, died from cancer. Grady’s prognosis was grim, even from the start, but Liz never gave up hope he would survive. How could she, when he was everything to her?

Six months later, she is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life and get the kids to school on time. Both seem impossible. Everything seems impossible these days.

When Ben Tyler moves in next door, she is drowning in sorrow and pain, her children are acting out, and the house is falling apart. She has no time for curious new friends or unwanted help, but Ben gives her both. And he doesn’t just want to help her with yard work or cleaning the gutters. Ben wants more from Liz. More than she’s capable of ever giving again.

As Liz mourns her dead husband and works her way through the five stages of grief, she finds there’s more of her heart to give than she thought possible. And as new love takes hold, she peels away the guilt and heartache, and discovers there’s more to life than death.

Purchase on Amazon:
Purchase on iBooks:
Purchase on B&N:
Purchase on Kobo:

Rachel Higginson is the creator of The Star-Crossed Series, Love & Decay Novella Series, The Starbright Series, The Siren Series, Bet on Us and the soon to be released, The Five Stages of Falling in Love! She is also the co-creator of the podcast "Zach & Rachel Take Over the World."

She was born and raised in Nebraska, and spent her college years traveling the world. She fell in love with Eastern Europe, Paris, Indian Food and the beautiful beaches of Sri Lanka, but came back home to marry her high school sweetheart. Now she spends her days raising four amazing kids. In the few spare moments she has to herself, she is either reading for hours on end or writing her own stories.

Website   Facebook   Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment